BitTorrent, Gnutella and our E61s

I recently downloaded LimeWire and I’ve started to use to it’s fullest. Downloading all kinds of goodies while the computer is on is pretty nice. I’m sure most of you have (had) experience with these types of things: there have been many in the past like Kazaa which never really attracted me because of all the viruses you could catch. Now life’s different; with virus protection and/or not downloading any exe files you will be fine!

Well, now since there is Symella (LimeWire uses Gnutella protocol) I’m thinking of how to move my experience from behind my desk into my pocket. Wouldn’t it be awesome to be taking a walk while your content is loading instead of sitting behind your desk (not that you have to guard it)?!! You can do that now if you have a Unlimited data plan or your neighborhood has WiFi to share with you!

Here are the links for SymTorrent, your BitTorrent on E61, and Symella, LimeWire or other Gnutella on E61. Enjoy P2P on the go with S60!Ps: I am still trying to figure out how to use these… so if you know go ahead post in the comments (the problem for me is the peers and torrents, where do you get them?).

 

Status view 

7 Responses to “BitTorrent, Gnutella and our E61s”

  1. Anonymous coward Says:

    For torrents, you need to find a tracker site, which lists the torrents that are available; hosts the .torrent file that contains all the information you need about sourcing the torrents; and also tracks seeds and leechers. There are public trackers and private trackers. Maybe start with the public trackers at http://www.piratebay.org or http://www.mininova.org – assuming symtorrent is able to work with them….

  2. Andrew Vong Says:

    Hi Jake,

    I’ve used SymTorrent and it’s pretty good. It heats up the E61 though. Oh yeah, I also left the charger on while downloading just in case it sucked all the juice from my E61. 🙂

    You can go to sites like torrentspy.com or mininova.org to get your torrents. Download the .torrent file and transfer it to your E61 and leave it downloading. You can either use it with an unlimited plan with your telco or via wifi. Wifi’s faster.

    Good luck & have fun!! 🙂

    Cheers!

  3. Jake Says:

    Thanks for the advice Andrew Vong!

  4. Nona Maas Says:

    For torrents, you need to find a tracker site, which lists the torrents that are available; hosts the .torrent file that contains all the information you need about sourcing the torrents; and also tracks seeds and leechers.

  5. Casimira Says:

    Having read this I thought it was rather enlightening.
    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this information together.
    I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of
    time both reading and posting comments. But so what, it was
    still worthwhile!

  6. Z Hunter War of The Dead Hack Says:

    Remarkable! Its in fact amazing article, I have got
    much clear idea regarding from this article.

  7. brave trials hack no survey Says:

    My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different website and thought I might as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to finding out about your web page repeatedly.

Leave a Reply

