Skype for Symbian: COMING SOON

Good news: Skype for Symbian was the first thing that came to my mind when I purchased my Nokia E61 and discovered the Internet Tel. app (which has no use currently). I looked on Skype.com but found nothing about a version for Symbian, what at bummer 😦 … And now rumors are spreading that Skype is working on a version for Symbian S60v3!!! Yeah!
Read this article at Reuters carries the news now “officially”. A rumor no more, it’s true.
Helsingin Sanomat, the “New York Times of Finland”, talked to CEO of Skype who admitted that a Symbian version of Skype IS coming.
I don’t know when this will be but I’m sure we will be Skyping our friends soon 🙂

14 Responses to “Skype for Symbian: COMING SOON”

  1. Mark Laris Says:

    Forget about Skype, I think they missed the boat. Checkout Truphone (www.truphone.com). They have Mobile VoIP designed for E series phones, it works great and it’s free until the end of the year.

  2. SPChamp1 Says:

    You should check out iSkoot.com. It is software for the S60 phones, and I believe it will work on 3rd edition S60 as well.

  3. Robert Says:

    The trackback to my E61 Junkie weblog fails. I accidently published the incomplete article. It is now available at http://e61junkie.wordpress.com/2006/10/04/skype-for-symbian/

    (Notice the new date!)

  4. Antony Pranata Says:

    Is it coming or not coming? I read in some blogs that Skype is not coming soon because of technical problems. Here is one of the link, http://forums.mobileburn.com/showthread.php?p=140845.

  5. jake61 Says:

    It IS coming. There have been technical problems with it that can be found to have been reported online last February (see this: http://andyabramson.blogs.com/voipwatch/2006/06/skype_4_symbian.html)
    But now they are saying that it IS coming though late because of the many technical problems… when it’s coming? No dates announced yet.

  6. simon Says:

    You said in your post:

    “…Internet Tel. app (which has no use currently)”

    I beg to differ. I use the internet telephone (SIP) capability of the phone every day!

  7. jake61 Says:

    Really! Tell me more. Email me at jpoysti@gmail.com.no.trash.please (remove the no.trash.please though)

    I would like to know HOW you use it (cause it doesn’t seem to work for most of us)

  8. cheongsta88 Says:

    The “Internel Tel.” feature is the SIP implementation.
    Skype is NOT truly SIP compliant as it is using Peer-2-Peer (P2P) technology.
    You gotta go find a SIP provider who has SBC (Session Border Controller) implemented in their network for the E61 SIP stack to work cos the Eseries can’t do NAT at the moment. They’re going to fix the NAT problem in the E61 during next major software release.

  9. delta_emme Says:

    Truphone!
    I have to say thanks to, Mark Laris!
    I have never seen a piece of software working so well on mobile phone (Nokia E61).
    If you want to make cheap call with your E61, use it (www.truphone.com) because it is perfect.
    Easy configuration, no more then one restart! truphone!!!
    DM

  10. Curious Shade Says:

    I too use the SIP capabilties (Internet phone) of the e61 every day. Far from having no use, it allows you to connect to a variety of VoIP providers, gives you your own virtual number and routing/trunking service and you can make cheap or free calls. All without installing any software.

    The quality of SIP VoIP is great, too. Ever tried to use Skype over a low quality GPRS connection? Doesn’t seem to matter with SIP based VoIP.

    Do some looking around and check out a few proper VoIP companies.

  11. slikers Says:

    thanks for share info

  12. Symbian Blogger Says:

    I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

  13. pentax binoculars Says:

    my computer runs sloooowly

  14. Laundry Sorter Says:

    i would love to see a massive price drop on internet phones coz i like to buy lots of em *::

Leave a Reply

